Jump to content
Ornithology Exchange

Caesar Kleberg Award for Excellence in Applied Wildlife Research, nominations due May 1

Melanie Colón

Recommended Posts



The Caesar Kleberg Award recognizes those who have distinguished themselves in applied wildlife research and is focused on those whose body of work, in both inquiry and discovery, has resulted in application of management and conservation “on the ground.” In addition to the award plaque and commemorative medal, the recipient receives a complimentary TWS annual conference registration, travel expenses, and a small honorarium.

Caesar Kleberg was one of the great conservationists of his time. Born in Cuero, Texas, in 1873, he witnessed the impact of wildlife being decimated by unregulated hunting while working on his uncle’s ranch at the age of 27. As a result, Caesar set rules for hunting on the ranch as early as 1912. He then served for 20 years on the Game, Fish, and Oyster Commission (the precursor to Texas Parks and Wildlife Department), and through that organization effectively stopped all hunting of wild turkeys in the state to promote their conservation. Subsequently, he enlisted the help and support of private landowners to work at restoration efforts for deer, turkey and quail.

Before his death in 1946, he drafted his will to create the Caesar Kleberg Foundation for Wildlife Conservation. Over the past 60 years, his Foundation has given in excess of $40 million to wildlife research projects and has has created endowed positions at six universities. In 1981, the Foundation created the Caesar Kleberg Wildlife Research Institute, and in 2007 the organization made a substantial gift to The Wildlife Society to endow this award.

Award Nomination Process and Criteria

To nominate an individual for consideration, click here to learn about the criteria and the nomination process. Nomination forms must be submitted by May 1, 2016.

Caesar Kleberg Award for Excellence in Applied Wildlife Research
Ralph “Rocky” Gutiérrez
William M. Block
Duane R. Diefenbach
Michael Pelton
Karl Miller
Michael R. Conover
Richard M. Kaminski
Richard A. Dolbeer


Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...