Jump to content
Ornithology Exchange (brought to you by the Ornithological Council)

David Starr Jordan Prize For Innovative Contributions To The Study Of Evolution, Ecology, Population And Organismal Biology, DUE SEPT 15

Melanie Colón

Recommended Posts

The David Starr Jordan Prize

For Innovative Contributions to the Study of

Evolution, Ecology, Population and Organismal Biology


In 1986, Cornell, Indiana and Stanford Universities established a joint endowment to fund a prize in honor of David Starr Jordan, a scientist, educator and institution builder, who had enormous influence on higher education in the United States and important ties to each of these universities. The prize is international in scope and presented approximately every three years to a young scientist (not over the age of 40 at the deadline for nomination, or if over 40, less than 10 years since receiving the Ph.D.).


The intent of this prize is to recognize young scientists who are making novel innovative contributions in one or more areas of Jordan’s interest: evolution, ecology, population and organismal biology, and who are likely to redirect the principal foci of their fields. In addition to a $20,000 cash award, the recipient will receive a commemorative medal, will attend an awards ceremony, visit each of the sponsoring institutions and give scholarly presentations of his/her work. The selection of the prize winner will be made by a committee composed of representatives from each of the three institutions. This year the award ceremony will be held at Indiana University.


Nominations forms are posted on the David Starr Jordan Prize Website (www.davidstarrjordan.org). Nomination forms with supporting materials should be submitted electronically. Questions should be directed to:


Dee Verostko

Indiana University

Department of Biology

1001 E. Third Street, JH 127

Bloomington, IN 47405

(812-855-6283 – FAX 812-855-6705 – email dverostk@indiana.edu


All nomination materials must be received prior to September 15, 2014.

For more information including a list of previous prize winners and their accomplishments, visit: www.davidstarrjordan.org

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...