Jump to content


**Abstracts due Feb 1** BES Symposium "Demography Beyond the Population"

  • Please log in to reply
No replies to this topic

#1 Melanie Colón

Melanie Colón
  • Moderators
  • 734 posts
  • Texas A&M University, College Station, TX,
  • United States

Posted 27 January 2015 - 09:49 AM

The abstract and early registration deadlines are fast approaching for the BES Symposium
"Demography Beyond the Population" to be held in Sheffield, UK March 24-26, 2015.
Preceding workshops will be offered on March 23.

*Abstracts Due* - February 1
*Early Registration Closes* - February 15


*Space is limited* so we strongly advise registering as soon as possible.

The symposium and preceding workshops aim to highlight the emerging role of demographic
tools as bridges across ecological, spatial, and temporal scales. Specific themes include
evolutionary demography, environmental and physiological drivers of population dynamics,
communities and coexistence, species ranges and spread, conservation and global change, and
methodological advances.

This is a fantastic opportunity to engage with leading researchers in a relatively small
and focused setting. The symposium will be held at historic Cutlers' Hall in Sheffield
with daily lunch and catering included.

*Preceding Workshops* offered on March 23:
--"Advanced applications of matrix population models: age-x-stage (and related) demographic
models" -Hal Caswell
--"Integral projection models (IPMs) in population ecology and evolutionary biology" -
IPMpack Team
--"Demographic, equilibrium and evolutionary analysis of structured population models with
continuous development: a general methodology and software package" -André M. de Roos
--"Bayesian Survival Trajectory Analysis in R using BaSTA" -Fernando Colchero and Owen

Organizers: Alden Griffith (agriffit@wellesley.edu), Rob Salguero-Gómez, Cory Merow, Sean
McMahon, Jessica Metcalf, Dylan Childs.

Yvonne Buckley
Hal Caswell
Elizabeth Crone
Johan Ehrlén
Stephen Ellner
Jordan Golubov
Alden Griffith
Dave Hodgson
Eelke Jongejans
Sean McMahon
Cory Merow
Jessica Metcalf
Maria del Carmen Mendujano
Drew Purves
Mark Rees
Rob Salguero-Gómez
Frank Schurr
Shripad Tuljapukar
Maria Uriarte

Full URL:

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members(s), 0 guests(s) and 0 anonymous member(s)