Jump to content


Champion of Owls Awards announced

  • Please log in to reply
No replies to this topic

#1 Chris Merkord

Chris Merkord


  • Administrators
  • 1,689 posts
  • Vermillion, South Dakota,
  • United States

Posted 28 March 2011 - 03:15 PM


The world's best owl researchers and conservationists received the accolades of their peers during the 9th annual International Festival of Owls in Houston, Minnesota.

Professor Dr. Claus König of Germany received the Festival's highest tribute, the Champion of Owls Award. In addition to discovering several new species of owls, he authored the authoritative guidebook to owls of the world.

Barnaby, the Barn owl, who received the Lady Gray’l Award, touched the lives of over 1.8 million people in the United Kingdom. In his twenty years at Paradise Park in Cornwall he appeared on television and in person to promote public engagement in protecting wild barn owls, helping to raise over £140,000 for bird conservation.

Raju Acharya of Nepal received the Special Achievement Award. He has worked diligently to survey owl populations and human attitudes toward owls in his country and educated millions of Nepalese people about the importance of owls in a balanced ecosystem that also supports the local economy.

The World Owl Hall of Fame is sponsored by the World Owl Trust, Global Owl Project, and Gray Owl Fund.

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members(s), 0 guests(s) and 0 anonymous member(s)