Ornithology Exchange
  • Assistant/Associate Professor Wildlife Management

Melanie Colón
    • Employer: Sam Houston State University
      Last Date to Apply: No value
      Open Until Filled: No

Forwarded message:

All,

My name is Kyle Stutts and I am an associate professor of animal science at Sam Houston State University.  Our Department of Agricultural Sciences offers a minor in Wildlife Management and we are currently looking to fill an Assistant/Associate Professor position that will focus on teaching our wildlife management courses.  The courses we have in place include Principles of Wildlife Management, Habitat and Pond Management, Game Animal Production, and Upland Game Bird Management,  however, the successful applicant will be able to create courses of their own choosing and interest as well. Our program is different from the traditional wildlife programs as it is geared towards preparing students for careers in intensively managed wildlife operations, but our students need a foundation in traditional wildlife coursework as well and that is what we hope the successful candidate can provide to our students. 

You may be aware that we have conducted this search in the past, but for various personal reasons, the candidates we have selected have not been able to take the position.  We have opened the position again and we have a very short timeline to complete our search.  We plan to begin conducting Skype interviews by the end of the week or the first of next week.  So, if you or anyone you know has any interest at all, please let me know and have them submit their application and CV as soon as possible.  Recommendation letters can come later.