Jump to content
Ornithology Exchange

Nominations for Katma, Miller Awards now open

Recommended Posts

The Cooper Ornithological Society invites nominations for the Katma Award, which recognized innovative publications, and the Miller Award, for lifetime achievement. Descriptions of the awards and instructions for submitting nominations are below.


SEEKING PUBLICATION NOMINATIONS FOR THE KATMA AWARD. The Cooper Ornithological Society established the Katma Award in 2003 with the sponsorship of the late Robert W. Storer. It seeks to recognize papers proposing ideas or testing theories that replace current dogma, or settled opinion, that could change the course of thinking about the biology of birds. Papers may also include those that propose a largely untested idea, or those that develop and advance it. The award may be given to research articles, short communications, or commentaries (e.g., editorials, reviews) of any length published in any scientific venue. Papers with one or two authors will be preferred; those with more authors must specify the contribution of each. See Condor 113:474, Condor 105:843 and http://www.cooper.or..._and_grants.htm for additional information about the award. To submit a nomination, send an email with a pdf of the paper or series of papers, and a 1-2 page letter describing how the nomination fits the qualifications outlined above by 1 December 2012 to the Katma Awards Committee Chair, Steve Beissinger (beis@berkeley.edu).


THE MILLER AWARD COMMITTEE of the Cooper Ornithological Society solicits nominations for the Loye H. and Alden H. Miller Award. This award is offered annually by the COS to a living individual who has an extensive record of research in any field of ornithology and who has made significant advancements and major breakthroughs in our understanding of the biology of birds that have stood the test of time. The award is given solely on the merits of the research and is not restricted with respect to nationality, research subject, or geographic area in which the research was conducted. Recent recipients of the Miller Award are John Wiens, Robert Ricklefs, Robert Payne, Peter Marler, Francis James, Keith Hobson, Susan Haig and Thomas Martin. Please send nominations with a brief supporting statement (~1 page) and citations of key publications or URL for a Web site by 1 January 2013 to Sievert Rohwer, Chair, Miller Award Committee. Email is preferable rohwer@uw.edu but hard copy can be sent to Department of Biology, Box 351600, University of Washington, Seattle, WA 98195, USA.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...