Jump to content
Ornithology Exchange (brought to you by the Ornithological Council)

2018 Award and Grant Recipients

Libby Mojica

Recommended Posts

We are pleased to announce the winners of the 2018 Raptor Research Foundation award and grants programs. The 2019 funding cycle will open for new applications on 1 February 2019.

Research Grants

Leslie Brown Memorial Grant – The Brown Grant provides financial assistance to promote the research and/or the dissemination of information on African birds of prey. Melissa Whitecross won for the project titled Southern Banded Snake Eagle distribution and demographics in South Africa.

Stephen R. Tully Memorial Grant – The Tully Grant supports research and conservation of raptors specifically to students and amateurs with limited access to alternative funding. Jessica Schlarbaum from the University of California – Davis, USA won for the project titled Prey preferences and provisioning rates of American Kestrels in the Central Valley, California, United States.

Dean Amadon Grant: The Amadon Grant assists researchers working in the area of distribution and systematics of raptors. Andres Schmalfuss won for the project titled Juvenile Goshawk movement ecology in the Northeastern United States.


Student Travel and Presentations

William C. Andersen Memorial Award – The Andersen Award is given to both the best student oral and poster presentation at the annual RRF meeting.

Carina Nebel from the FitzPatrick Institute of African Ornithology, South Africa, won for the paper presentation titled Experimental Test of Reaction Times of Pigeons Towards an Attacking Hawk – a Study of the Polymorphic Black Sparrowhawk Under Varying Conditions.

Shivangi Mishra from the University of Lucknow, India won for the poster presentation titled Annual and Seasonal Variations in Populations of Endangered Egyptian Vultures (Neophron percnopterus) in Administrative Divisions of Uttar Pradesh, India.


James R. Koplin Travel Award – The Koplin Award is given to students who are the senior author and presenter of a paper or poster to be presented at the RRF meeting.

Ariana Dickson from Boise State University won for the project titled Non-target exposure of toxins to raptors: anticoagulant rodenticides and Ferruginous Hawks.

Ron Efrat from Ben-Gurion University of the Negev, Israel won for the project titled Effects of early life experience on the behavior of reintroduced Egyptian Vultures.

Anthony Lowney from the FitzPatrick Institute of African Ornithology, South Africa won for the project titled Sleeping with the enemy: the extreme associations of the African Pygmy Falcon to Sociable Weaver colonies.

Haruki Natsukawa from Yokohama National University, Japan won for the project titled Breeding-state determinants of the endangered Mountain Hawk-eagle revealed by a dynamic multi-state occupancy model.

Vincent Slabe from West Virginia University, USA won for the project titled Continental-Scale Patterns of Lead Exposure of Facultative Avian Scavengers.

Ivan Starikov from the University of Heidelberg, Germany won for the project titled Phylogenetic analysis of Elaninae Kites based on nucleotide sequences of mitochondrial and nuclear DNA.

Ryan Steiner from the University of Minnesota, USA won for the project titled Linking local and regional weather variables to migration phenology in North American raptors.

Achievement Awards

Tom Cade Award – The Cade Award recognizes an individual who has made significant advances in the area of captive propagation and reintroduction of raptors. 

Richard T. Watson, The Peregrine Fund, USA

Fran and Frederick Hamerstrom Award – The Hamerstrom Award recognizes an individual who has contributed significantly to the understanding of raptor ecology and natural history.

Ian Newton, Natural Environment Research Council, United Kingdom

Erikki Korpimäki, University of Turku, Finland


Service Awards

President’s Award – This award is given in recognition and appreciation of exceptional service to the Raptor Research Foundation.

James Dwyer, EDM International, Inc., USA

Jennifer Coulson, Orleans Audubon Society, USA


Exceptional Service Award – The RRF board created the Exceptional Service Award in 2018 to recognize RRF members with outstanding work and service to the foundation. 

Daniel Varland, Coastal Raptors, USA



Sofi Hindmarch, RRF Award Committee Chair

Clint Boal, William C. Andersen Award Chair

Jennifer Coulson, Fran and Frederick Hamerstrom Award Chair and Tom Cade Award Chair

Jim Harper, James Koplin Award Chair

Carole Griffiths, Dean Amadon Grant Chair and Stephen R. Tully Memorial Grant Chair

Jeff Lincer, Leslie Brown Memorial Grant Chair

View the full article

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...