Jump to content
Ornithology Exchange (brought to you by the Ornithological Council)

USFWS will review status of 38 species listed under ESA

Cara J

Recommended Posts

The U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service will review the status of 38 southwestern species listed as threatened or endangered under the Endangered Species Act. Under review are species found in Texas, Arizona, New Mexico and Oklahoma, including the endangered jaguar (Panthera onca), the endangered Mexican wolf (Canus lupus baileyi) and the endangered ocelot (Leopardus pardalis). Every five years, USFWS conducts status reviews to ensure species continue to have adequate and appropriate levels of protection under the ESA. Five-year status reviews use the best scientific data available to determine if a species’ status has changed since the time it was listed or since the previous status review. After conducting a review, the Service can reclassify the species, remove it from the list or maintain its current classification. The USFWS is requesting the submission of any relevant and/or new information on these species that has become available since the previous reviews of these species. Read the notice in the Federal Register.

View the full article

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Restore formatting

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

  • Create New...