Jump to content
Ornithology Exchange

Get access to SimBio’s SimUText Ecology™: a platform for incorporating active learning into ecology courses


Recommended Posts

SimBio (http://simbio.com) and the Quantitative Undergraduate Biology
Education and Synthesis (QUBES) project invite applications for a Faculty
Mentoring Network (FMN) focused on using SimBio’s SimUText Ecology™ as a
platform to incorporate more active learning into ecology courses.
Participants in this FMN will each pick two SimBio chapters to implement in
their course, and will work together with SimBio authors to develop and
implement in-class activities to accompany those chapters with the goal of
providing increased active-learning opportunities to their students.

The FMN will have two main objectives:
1. To develop, localize, and test in-class activities for ecology classes
that can be shared with other faculty, and
2. To promote group-learning and sharing around implementation strategies
for the in-class activities.

The Faculty Mentoring Network is a mentored, long-term community interaction
on the QUBES site. The group will begin working online in July, with a set
of three online two hour meetings. Applicants must be teaching ecology or
an equivalent course in Fall 2016 and be able to commit to 1-2 hours per
week, including online meetings. Participants will receive a stipend for
participation. Upon completion of the Faculty Mentoring Network participants
will post their materials and teaching guidelines for sharing with other
ecology faculty.

SimBio will be hosting 20-30 minute webinar sessions at the following times
to discuss the FMN project with instructors who may be interested in
participating:

-Friday April 8th @ 9am pacific, 10am mountain, 11am central, 12pm eastern
-Friday April 8th @ 11am pacific, 12pm mountain, 1pm central, 2pm eastern
-Friday April 15th @ 10am pacific, 11am mountain, 12pm central, 1pm eastern

Please visit http://simbio.com/simutext-ecology-FMN to register for a
session or https://qubeshub.org/groups/simbiofmn for more information.
Questions? Contact Eli Meir (emeir@simbio.com) or Alison Hale (anm116@pitt.edu).

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

×
×
  • Create New...