Jump to content
Ornithology Exchange (brought to you by the Ornithological Council)

2015 Raptor Research Foundation Award and Grant Recipients

Libby Mojica

Recommended Posts

2015 Raptor Research Foundation Award and Grant Recipients

Koplin award 2015 - Judkins, Garcia-Heras, Van Eeden, Regan, Spaul (photo by Kate Davis)

Koplin Award 2015 – Judkins, Garcia-Heras, Van Eeden, Regan, Spaul (photo by Kate Davis).

The James R. Koplin Travel Award – The Koplin Award supports travel costs for students who are a senior author and presenter of a paper or poster accepted for presentation at an RRF conference.

J Rowen Van Eeden – PhD candidate, Univ. of Capetown, South Africa. Martial Eagles in Kruger Park

Marie-Sophie Garcia-Heras – PhD candidate, University of Capetown, South Africa. Assessing the health status of a scarce and threatened raptor endemic to southwestern Africa, the Black Harrier.

Megan Judkins – PhD candidate, Oklahoma State University, USA. Genomics of Bald Eagles.

Tempe Regan –   MS student, Boise State University, USA.  Barn Owl Roadway Mortality in Southern Idaho.

Robert Spaul  –  MS student, Boise State University, USA.  Recreation disturbance to Golden Eagles.


The Leslie Brown Memorial Grant – The Brown grant provides financial assistance to promote the research and/or the dissemination of information on African birds of prey.

Petra Sumasgutner for her proposed study, entitled Raptors in a changing world ‐ understanding the response of predators to increasing urbanisation and climate change in Southern Africa.


The Stephen R. Tully Memorial Grant – The Tully grant supports research and conservation of raptors specifically to students and amateurs with limited access to alternative funding.

Danielle Floyd: Northern Saw-whet Owl (Aegolius acadicus) population dynamics in the Southern Appalachian mountain range.

Honorable mention for the Tully Award: Graydon Hidalgo: Ecological Comparisons between the Northwestern and Southeastern Peregrine Falcon Populations.


The Dean Amadon Grant: The Amadon grant assists researchers working in the area of distribution and systematics of raptors.

Ellen Robertson: Effective Dispersal and Implications for Population Connectivity in an Endangered Raptor – Rostrhamus sociabilis.


The Tom Cade Award – The Cade award recognizes an individual who has made significant advances in the area of captive propagation and reintroduction of raptors.

Janet Linthicum –  RRF recognizes the lifetime of  contributions of Janet Linthicum for her work on captive propagation. She was an early pioneer in captive propagation of raptors and developed unique and innovative techniques to hatch hundreds if not thousands of thin-shelled Peregrine Falcon eggs for release of the chicks into the wild. She also shared her practiced methods to hatch and raise Aplomado Falcons, Elf Owls, and other rare birds of prey with her colleagues in California and around the world.


Tempe Reagan presenting her Andersen award winning oral presentation.

Tempe Reagan presenting her Andersen award winning oral presentation (photo by Kate Davis).

The William C. Andersen Memorial Award – The Andersen Memorial Award is given to both the best student oral and poster presentation at the annual RRF meeting.

Oral presentation winner: Tempe Regan, Boise State University, USA: Barn owl roadway mortality in Southern Idaho.

Poster presentation winner: Claire Nellis, Boise State University, USA: Does being bugged cause stress and alter behavior of burrowing owls?


President's Award 2015: Booms, Boal, Mojica.

President’s Award 2015: Travis Booms, Clint Boal (RRF President), Libby Mojica (photo by Kate Davis).

President’s Award -This award is given in recognition and appreciation of exceptional service to the Raptor Research Foundation.

Travis Booms

Libby Mojica


View the full article

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...