Jump to content
Ornithology Exchange
Melanie Colón


Recommended Posts


The Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology at the University of Michigan
invites nominations of outstanding scientists early in their careers to participate in an
exciting international symposium entitled “Frontiers in Community Assembly.” The
symposium events will take place on 12 March 2016, in Ann Arbor, Michigan. Dr.
Tadashi Fukami and Dr. Rosemary Gillespie will be the keynote speakers.

Potential topics include phylogenetic and ecological models for inferring community
structure, speciation and the evolution of secondary sympatry, genomic processes
underlying colonization and local adaptation, the structuring of communities across
environmental gradients, inferences from paleo-communities

We welcome nominations of early career scientists who are studying ecological and
evolutionary approaches to community assembly. Early career scientists are
considered senior graduate students (who stand to receive their Ph.D. within one
year) or postdoctoral researchers. A colleague or advisor may provide the
nomination. The selected nominees will be invited to present their work and to
participate in panel discussions at the symposium.

The nomination consists of the nominee’s curriculum vitae, a brief abstract of the
proposed presentation (letter of recommendation addressing the nominee’s scientific promise and ability to
give a compelling talk. Nominations should be sent electronically (in one file, please)
to eeb-ecss-nomination2016@umich.edu using the nominee’s name as the subject
line (last name first). More information is available at http://sites.lsa.umich.edu/ecss/.

Review of nominations will begin on January 22nd, 2016. Selected participants will be
contacted by February 1, 2016, and will have all expenses covered (registration, travel
and accommodation). An official announcement of the list of speakers will be issued
soon thereafter.

For more information, contact Carol Solomon at carollyn@umich.edu.

The 2016 Early Career Scientists Symposium scientific committee includes:
Lydia Beaudrot
James Pease
Marian Schmidt
Carol Solomon
Ben Winger
Senay Yitbarek

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Restore formatting

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

  • Create New...