Jump to content


Four ornithologists named AAAS Fellows

  • Please log in to reply
No replies to this topic

#1 Ellen Paul

Ellen Paul


  • Administrators
  • 1,302 posts
  • United States

Posted 21 November 2017 - 05:18 AM

Congratulations to Craig Benkman (University of Wyoming), Geoff Hill (Auburn), Amanda Rodewald (Cornell), and Town Peterson (University of Kansas), who have all been named AAAS Fellows   in recognition of their contributions to science and technology, scientific leadership and extraordinary achievements across disciplines.


The tradition of AAAS Fellows dates to 1874 and comprises an illustrious group of scientists. Among them are astronomer Maria Mitchell, who discovered a comet that now carries her name and was elected Fellow in 1875; inventor Thomas Edison, whose creations included the incandescent light bulb and was elected Fellow in 1878; anthropologist Margaret Mead whose field research on culture and personality attracted much acclaim and was elected Fellow in 1934, and American biologist James Watson who, along with others, helped discover the structure of DNA and was elected Fellow in 1965.

  • Melanie Colón likes this

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members(s), 0 guests(s) and 0 anonymous member(s)