Ornithology Exchange (brought to you by the Ornithological Council)

Candidate bios

Slate of Candidates for 2017 election to Executive Council

President-Elect

Dave Moore

I’m a Waterbird Biologist with the Canadian Wildlife Service. Since graduate work (Ph.D., Simon Fraser University), my research has focused on the behavioral and population ecology of terns, gulls, cormorants, egrets and herons, including: parental care, interspecific interactions, population monitoring, demography, migration patterns and using waterbirds as bio-indicators. For 25 years, I have been engaged in the conservation of waterbirds and their habitats.

I became involved in the Waterbird Society as a student, and have been a regular member, attending all annual meetings, since 2009. I’ve served as Councilor (2012-14), as a member of the Grants (2012-; Chair, 2015-), Bylaws (2012-) and Membership (2013-) Committees, and judging student presentations (2012-).

I believe that our Society’s greatest contributions are: (i) fostering communications among scientists and supporting research and conservation, internationally, through our journal, annual meetings and awards and (ii) its philosophy of inclusivity and collegiality, that values and supports biologists at all stages of their careers. Developing strategies to attract and retain members, fostering international exchange, maintaining the relevance of our journal and annual meetings, sound financial planning and advocacy for the birds we are passionate about are all priorities, as we meet the challenges of rapidly changing world.

Ted Simons