Jump to content
Ornithology Exchange
Chris Merkord

Workshops at the NAOC-V in Vancouver, August 2012

Recommended Posts

The following workshops are being planned for the NAOC-V conference in Vancouver, BC, Canada, 14-18 August 2012.

 

For the most recent information on workshops being offered at the conference, see here.

 

Estimating avian abundance and occupancy with marked and unmarked individuals

Convenors:

Dr. Richard Chandler, Patuxent Wildlife Research Center, Laurel, MD, 20708

Dr. Evan Cooch, Cornell University, Ithaca, NY, 14853

Dr. Paul Doherty, Colorado State University, Fort Collins, CO, 80523

Dr. Jim Nichols, Patuxent Wildlife Research Center, Laurel, MD, 20708

 

Bird-banding.

Convenor: John D. Alexander, Klamath Bird Observatory, e-mail: jda@KlamathBird.org

 

Getting the message out: How to communicate your research effectively through the media.

Convenors: Andrea Norris, University of British Columbia, e-mail: arnorris@interchange.ubc.ca;

Melanie Colon, Texas A & M University, e-mail: melaniec@tamu.edu; Stephanie Wright, The Ohio State University, e-mail: wright.1295@buckeyemail.osu.edu.

 

Using and contributing to avian collections.

Convenor: Ildiko Szabo, University of British Columbia, e-mail: ildiko@zoology.ubc.ca.

 

The care and use of wild birds in research.

Convenors: Jeanne M. Fair, Los Alamos National Laboratory, e-mail: jmfair@lanl.gov; Ellen Paul, The Ornithological Council, e-mail: ellen.paul@verizon.net.

 

North American Ornithological Atlas Committee (NORAC).

Convenors: Andrew R. Couturier, Bird Studies Canada, e-mail: acouturier@bsc-eoc.org;

Charles M. Francis, Canadian Wildlife Service, e-mail: charles.francis@ec.gc.ca.

 

Important Bird Areas in North America: Linking efforts across borders.

Convenors: Ted Cheskey, Nature Canada, e-mail: tcheskey@naturecanada.ca; John Cecil,

National Audubon Society, e-mail: jcecil@audubon.org; Rosa María Vidal, Pronatura Sur,

México; Andrew Couturier, Bird Studies Canada, e-mail: acouturier@bsc-eoc.org.

 

Enhancing automated analysis of acoustic monitoring data.

Convenors: Charles M. Francis, Canadian Wildlife Service, e-mail: charles.francis@ec.gc.ca;

Andrew Farnsworth, Cornell Laboratory of Ornithology, e-mail: af27@cornell.edu; Phil Taylor, Acadia University Wolfville, e-mail: philip.taylor@acadiau.ca

 

The status of Gavia: Conservation in black and white.

Convenors: Jay Mager, Ohio Northern University, e-mail: j-mager@onu.edu; James Paruk, BioDiversity Research Institute, e-mail: jim.paruk@briloon.org

 

How a manuscript becomes a paper: writing and reviewing scientific papers.

Convenors: Michael A. Patten and Brenda D. Smith-Patten, Condor Editorial office, University of Oklahoma, e-mail: condor@ou.edu

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Your content will need to be approved by a moderator

Guest
You are commenting as a guest. If you have an account, please sign in.
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Restore formatting

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×